top of page
NAVIGATION GREECE

Protection and mental health care for vulnerable refugees in Greece

Since 2018 IsraAID Germany e. V., in close cooperation with the Central Welfare Board of Jews in Germany (ZWST), supports refugees in Greece in dealing with trauma and psychological stabilization, with a focus on particularly vulnerable groups.

In recent years, "Navigation Greece" has successfully trained committed former project participants with a refugee background to become intercultural mediators and community managers. This enabled the project to have direct and context-sensitive access to the target group and to newly arrived refugees. 

The psychosocial support (PSS) took the form of an art therapy offer that supported the process of trauma management and stress reduction and contributed to the psychological stabilization of the participants. The target group was reached at two locations near refugee shelters in Serres and Thessaloniki, in order to bring the help directly to the target group. In addition, modular psychosocial support in the form of a mobile "PSS tent" was set up to meet the increased demand for space with more therapy places.

Within the framework of the evacuation of unaccompanied minors (UAMs) from the Greek islands to the mainland, this project has been offering targeted support for unaccompanied minor refugees since 2020. This involved training and resource building using PSS methods for service providers working with unaccompanied minors.

The project was funded by Aktion Deutschland Hilft (ADH) and was carried out during the period January 1st, 2020 to December 31st, 2021.

 

Goals

  • Coping with trauma and reducing psychological distress, with a focus on vulnerable groups

  • Supporting local partners working with refugees in long-term psychosocial care

  • Training and capacity building for service providers working with refugees and unaccompanied minors

  • Empowerment and professionalization of refugees who are involved in the projects of IsraAID Deutschland e. V. as intercultural mediators

  • Constructing a mobile "PSS tent" with local communities of refugees to create more space for the existing need for professional work

logo-zwst-4c-2019-Titilium-pantone-307-rgb_edited.jpg
ADH_logo.PNG
bottom of page

top of page
NAVIGATION GREECE

Schutz und psychische Gesundheitsversorgung für vulnerable Geflüchtete in Griechenland

Seit 2018 leistet IsraAID Germany e. V., in enger Kooperation mit der Zentralwohlfahrtsstelle der Juden in Deutschland (ZWST), Unterstützung bei der Traumabewältigung und psychischen Stabilisierung von geflüchteten Menschen in Griechenland, mit einem Fokus auf besonders gefährdete Gruppen.

In den vergangenen Jahren bildete das Projekt Navigation Greece erfolgreich engagierte ehemalige Projektteilnehmende mit Fluchthintergrund zu interkulturellen Mediator_innen und Community Manager_innen aus. Dies ermöglichte dem Projekt einen direkten und kontext-sensiblen Zugang zur Zielgruppe und zu neu angekommenen Geflüchteten.

Die psychosoziale Unterstützung (PSS) erfolgte durch ein kunsttherapeutisches Angebot, das den Prozess der Traumabewältigung und des Stressabbaus unterstützt und zur psychischen Stabilisierung der Teilnehmenden beiträgt. Die Zielgruppe wurde an zwei Standorten in der Nähe von Geflüchtetenunterkünften in Serres und Thessaloniki erreicht, um die Hilfe direkt zur Zielgruppe zu bringen. Daneben wurde eine modulare psychosoziale Unterstützung in Form eines mobilen PSS-Zeltes aufgebaut, um dem gestiegenen Platzbedarf mit mehr Therapieplätzen zu begegnen.

Im Kontext der Evakuierung von unbegleiteten Minderjährigen (UAMs) von den griechischen Inseln auf das Festland bot das Projekt seit 2020 gezielte Unterstützung für unbegleitete minderjährige Geflüchtete. Dabei wurden Schulungen und Kapazitätsaufbau durch PSS-Methoden für Dienstleistende durchgeführt, die mit unbegleiteten Minderjährigen arbeiten.

Das Projekt wurde durch die Aktion Deutschland Hilft (ADH) finanziert und wurde im Zeitraum vom 01.01.2020-31.12.2021 durchgeführt.

 

Ziele

  • Bewältigung von Traumata und Verringerung der psychischen Belastung, mit Schwerpunkt auf besonders gefährdeten Gruppen

  • Unterstützung der lokalen Partner, die mit Flüchtlingen arbeiten, bei der langfristigen psychosozialen Betreuung

  • Schulung und Kapazitätsaufbau für Dienstleistungsanbieter, die mit Geflüchteten und unbegleiteten Minderjährigen arbeiten

  • Empowerment und Professionalisierung von Flüchtlingen, die die Projekte von IsraAID Deutschland e. V. als interkulturelle Vermittler unterstützen

  • Aufbau eines mobilen PSS-Zeltes mit den lokalen Gemeinschaften von Geflüchteten, um mehr Raum für den vorhandenen Bedarf an professioneller Arbeit zu schaffen

logo-zwst-4c-2019-Titilium-pantone-307-rgb_edited.jpg
ADH_logo.PNG
bottom of page