top of page

MHPSS FOR VULCANO VICTIMS OF LA PALMA VOLCANO ERUPTION

LaPalma_theatre2.jpg

On September 19, 2021, La Palma experienced the longest and most destructive volcanic eruption on the island since records were kept (in the year 1585). The Cumbre Vieja / Tajogaite eruption lasted for three months and affected more than 7,000 people and 1,241 hectares of land.

 

Many of the affected families not only lost their homes, but also their main source of income (agriculture, vacation rentals to tourists, etc.). In the devastating first hours of the eruption, entire neighborhoods were buried under the volcanic outflow and families were immediately evacuated without being able to take even their basic belongings with them as access roads were cut off by the lava. Houses and properties not destroyed by the lava are in danger of collapsing as ash piles up on the rooftops and the land is no longer suitable for cultivation because of the layers of ash.

 

Among the evacuated communities are 5 schools that had to be relocated to a new location on the island. The children in these schools not only had to cope with the traumatic events but also had to get used to a new social environment. Parents and teachers were sometimes only able to provide limited support during this time, as they themselves are suffering from the strain of the catastrophe.

 

IsraAID Germany and the ZWST were able to establish partnerships with affected communities, schools and city administrations, which are now participating in the project. The primary aim is to support children in dealing with traumatic experiences and in finding their way in their new situation. Project activities include psychosocial support training as well as resource building for local service providers, art therapy and educational theater workshops for children and young people.

Goals

  • Improved PSS capacity of service providers working with children from affected communities

  • Reducing the psychological stress and anxiety of children from affected communities

  • Strengthening the empowerment and resilience of children from affected communities

LaPalma_theatre
LaPalma_theatre2
Bild 3
Bild 1
LaPalma_PlayEnglish
logo-zwst-4c-2019-Titilium-pantone-307-rgb_edited.jpg
ADH_logo.PNG
bottom of page

MHPSS FÜR DIE BETROFFENEN DES VULKANAUSBRUCHES AUF LA-PALMA

LaPalma_theatre2.jpg

Am 19. September 2021 erlebte La-Palma den längsten und zerstörerischsten Vulkanausbruch auf der Insel seit Beginn der Aufzeichnungen (Jahr 1585). Die Eruption des Cumbre Vieja / Tajogaite dauerte drei Monate lang an und betraf mehr als 7.000 Menschen und 1.241,1 Hektar Land.

 

Viele der betroffenen Familien verloren nicht nur ihr Zuhause, sondern auch ihre Haupteinnahmequelle (Landwirtschaft, Ferienwohnungen für den Tourismus usw.). In den verheerenden ersten Stunden des Ausbruchs wurden ganze Stadtteile unter sich begraben, und die Familien wurden sofort evakuiert, ohne dass sie auch nur das Nötigste mitnehmen konnten, da die Straßen und Zugänge von der Lava abgeschnitten waren. Häuser und Grundstücke, die nicht von der Lava zerstört wurden, drohen einzustürzen, weil sich die Asche auf den Dächern türmt, und das Land kann wegen der Ascheschicht nicht bewirtschaftet werden.

 

Unter den evakuierten Gemeinden befinden sich 5 Schulen, die an einen neuen Standort auf der Insel verlegt werden mussten. Die Kinder in diesen Schulen mussten nicht nur mit den traumatischen Ereignissen fertig werden, sondern sich auch an ein neues soziales Umfeld gewöhnen. Eltern und Lehrer_innen konnten sie in dieser Zeit teilweise nur begrenzt unterstützen, da sie selbst unter den Belastungen der Katastrophe leiden.

 

IsraAID Germany und die ZWST konnten Partnerschaften mit betroffenen Gemeinden, Schulen und Stadtverwaltungen aufbauen, welche nun am Projekt teilnehmen. Primär sollen Kinder darin unterstützt werden, mit den traumatischen Erfahrungen umzugehen und sich an in ihrer neuen Situation zurechtzufinden. Aktivitäten des Projekts sind Schulungen zur psychosozialen Unterstützung als Kapazitätsaufbau für lokale Dienstleister, Kunsttherapie sowie pädagogische Theaterworkshops für Kinder und Jugendliche.

Ziele

  • Verbesserte PSS-Kapazitäten von Dienstleistern, die mit Kindern aus betroffenen Gemeinschaften arbeiten

  • Verringerung des psychischen Stresses und der Ängste der Kinder aus den betroffenen Gemeinschaften

  • Stärkung des Empowerments und der Resilienz der Kinder aus den betroffenen Gemeinschaften

LaPalmaV4
LaPalma_theatre
LaPalma_theatre2
Bild 3
Bild 1
LaPalma_PlayEnglish
logo-zwst-4c-2019-Titilium-pantone-307-rgb_edited.jpg
ADH_logo.PNG